Savage Pathfinder House Rules

Return to Savage Pathfinder

Even the best game requires both after-the-fact clarification from the designers, and a bit of tweaking for individual game groups. What follows is both.

Official Errata and Clarifications


  • In plain English, you may "multi-class" no more than once per Rank. Multi-classing means either adding a new class or starting a new prestige path.
    • "Adding a new class" means taking a core Class Edge like Bard, Cleric, or Fighter. It doesn't refer to "class improvement" Edges like Inspire Heroics or Countersong; those may be added as often as you wish.
    • "Starting a new prestige path" means taking a Prestige Edge with no number by it, like Arcane Archer or Duelist. It doesn't refer to improving that path with Edges like Arcane Archer II or Arcane Archer III; those may be added as often as you wish.
  • Example: Your Fighter just became Seasoned. You want her to be a Duelist and Rogue, but she can't do both this Rank (it's impossible to be a Fighter-Duelist-Rogue before Veteran). So you take Duelist as your first Seasoned advance. Your next two Seasoned advances could be Deadly Blow and Duelist II, because neither of those are considered multi-classing.
  • Multi-classing to a new Arcane Background grants you a free d4 in that arcane skill. This helps to balance the fact that you don't get another pool of PP to use and that class-based Edges like Favored Powers apply only to spells from that class.

House Rules


Player characters don't pick an alignment and NPC alignments are nothing but a roleplaying suggestion. Spells and abilities which affect or detect "Good" and "Evil" only work on Supernatural Good and Supernatural Evil (e.g., demons or undead). When it comes to humans and such, even the wickedest murderer won't detect as "Evil" unless she's possessed by a demon, empowered directly by an Evil god, etc.

Return to Savage Pathfinder