Torg Eternity

Though our group is new to Torg Eternity, I've been learning from the experienced gamers on the Torg forums. Based on their suggestions, I'm adopting some of their house rules. As our experience with Torg Eternity grows, these house rules may end up moved to their own page, with this becoming more of a general landing page.

Gamehacking Notes: The expected bonus result of rolling a single Torg d20 once is approximately +0.25 (not including the 5% odds of auto-fail). The average result of a bonus die is exactly +4 (+4.75 if you can reroll 1s).

For a recap of our ongoing game, see Storm Knights.


Torg Eternity Overview

A quick primer to the setting, with some verbiage stolen from other pages

Torg Eternity Characters

The basics of character creation, including races, attributes, and skills

Torg Eternity Languages

Special notes on the language skill - how it works and what languages to take

Torg Eternity Perk List

A consolidated list, organized by cosm for ease of selection

Torg Eternity Magic

Every canonical spell list, followed by an index of every spell

Torg Eternity Miracles

Every canonical miracle list, followed by an index of every miracle

Torg Eternity Psionics

Every canonical power list, followed by an index of every psionic power

Torg Eternity New Gear

New bits of gear that I've allowed or invented for my campaign

Which Cosm Should I Be From?

A quick summary of what each cosm has to offer your Storm Knight, including axioms

Torg Eternity Sample Storm Knights

A variety of balanced starting characters, usable as archetypes, examples, or PCs

Character Sheet

This sheet is ink-friendly and makes good use of space. It doesn't do calculations or have drop-down boxes, but that's by design. Few things are as frustrating as being unable to put "Special" or "See Notes" in a pre-calculated field.


House Rules and Clarifications

Note: I do not use the optional "(Cosm) Possibility Energy" rules from each cosm book. It's unnecessarily complicated, and Cosm Cards already handle this concept just fine.

Cross-Cosm Learning

It sometimes makes sense for a character to pick up (in play) a perk or arcane ability from a cosm they aren't native to. This is allowed, but such an ability always causes a personal contradiction! In other words, it's a one-case contradiction even in the cosm from which it stems (unless you have the Adaptable perk). In every other cosm, it's a one-case contradiction (even with Adaptable) -- unless it requires the cosm's laws (*), in which case it's a four-case contradiction.

Much like perks dependent on a cosm's laws are marked with a *, cross-cosm perks should be marked with a ! as a reminder.

Why: This allows for more varied and "out-there" characters, it adds some tension and uncertainty, and it constantly reminds that player of the differences between the realities of each cosm. These are all good things!

Falling Damage

Falling damage uses the Torg Distance Table. Take the Torg value of the distance (in meters), subtract 3, and multiply by 5 (max 40), always +1BD. Or in chart form:

MetersDamage MetersDamage
6–95 +1BD 40–5925 +1BD
10–1410 +1BD 60–9930 +1BD
15–2415 +1BD 100–14935 +1BD
25–3920 +1BD 150+40 +1BD
Why: Someone broke down the math over on the forums, and it really makes more sense both realistically and dramatically.

Favored and Disfavored

These cancel each other out on a one-for-one basis, so if your roll would be Favored from two aspects and Disfavored from one, it's just Favored. Any "leftover" Favored/Disfavored gives +/- 1 to your action total (e.g., if you're Disfavored from two sources, you're Disfavored and at -1).

''Why: Just a few simple, common sense rulings to cover edge cases.

Leveled Arcane Perks

If you take the same arcane perk multiple times (e.g., you already have Spellcaster and you take Spellcaster again), it adds two new miracles/powers/spells instead of one.

Why: This just brings the benefit in line with the other "enhanced arcane perks" being introduced in source books, such as Optant and Pulp Sorcerer, which each give at least two new arcane abilities.

Reality (Skill)

The Reality skill is based on Charisma, not Spirit.

Why: Thematically, Charisma represents your presence, how the world reacts to you as an inspiring hero, which is the most definitive part of being a Stormer; this is why Reality perks have Charisma prereqs more often than Spirit ones, why Corruption drains your Charisma, etc. Mechanically, this keeps Charisma from being a "dump stat"; Spirit has more than enough skills and uses already and doesn't suffer from this change.

Two-Handed Weapons

Balanced, two-handed weapons -- like quarterstaves and longswords -- are excellent defensive weapons. As such, anyone using such a weapon gets +2 to their melee weapons defense (just as dual-wielders do), unless the weapon has the Min Str or Unwieldy trait.

Why: Not only is this more believable and accurate, it also allows for a wider range of "weapon master" characters. Cinematic staff-slingers are just as cool as ambidextrous blade dancers!

Upgrading NPC Allies

A player with an attached NPC ally (e.g., a follower or animal companion) may choose to spend XP on the NPC instead of on her own PC. The first perk added costs the usual 5 XP, regardless of how many perks the NPC's base template contained.

Note that, at Beta Clearance, the Intense Training perk is a wonderful way to upgrade a companion or follower! But it must be taken by the PC (not bought as part of the NPC's character sheet) and it can be taken only once per NPC.

Why: There's already a precedent for "buy a perk that gives your NPC a perk," so this just generalizes that rule further and makes it simpler by not having to track which PC perks actually boost NPCs and so on.

Official Rules Clarifications

  • Torg FAQ and Errata
  • Perks, even cosm-specific ones, are not necessarily lost upon transforming to a new cosm, just those that the GM rules are "incompatible" with the new world (like Spellcaster in the Living Land). Racial perks are the most likely to stay. Thus, you could create a starting PC edeinos who has transformed to Core Earth but still retains one or two Edeinos perks; however, she could not acquire any further Edeinos perks. These retained perks are not considered "cross-cosm" (!) as discussed above.
  • Bonuses don't stack unless they explicitly say so. However, pay attention to the way damage is phrased; e.g., edeinos claws inflict a fixed "Strength +2 damage" just like a weapon, so they can receive a bonus on top of that fixed damage.
  • Disfavored is a status not found in the core book. It cancels out Favored, or on its own, it negates the first additional die roll you'd get (e.g., from Up or from a Possibility).
  • If you use a Multi-Action to attack the same target with two weapons or affect the same target with two different interaction attacks, the effects do not stack. Resolve both attacks (including damage/effect) and then apply the better result.
  • A active defense cannot be combined with any other actions (just simple actions). You can declare it even if the villains have initiative (basically using your action early). It lasts until the end of the current round.
  • The hand-size bonus from Glory cards is not cumulative; it's a flat +1. (As a house rule to compensate, after a Glory is played, anyone who has or draws another may choose to immediately discard it and draw another card; if you discarded from your pool, you may choose to play the new card into your pool immediately.)
  • Card and token play is simultaneous on an action. This doesn't normally matter, but if you were to play Drama and Hero on an attack, you could not then play Malestrom to prevent the foe Soaking because doing so would negate the Drama and Hero card play.
  • Casting an arcane power requires the target(s) to be in range, and within line of sight, but it can then be maintained until the duration ends (or for Concentration spells, until Concentration is broken).
  • When forced to make a Concentration test, if the target of a spell isn't within line of sight and range, the spell effect ends regardless of the result of the Concentration test.
  • If a "resisted" power (e.g., DN equals willpower or Spirit) is cast on a willing subject, the DN is unchanged but the subject can use Extra Effort to assist the caster.
  • If the Drama card shows multiple DSR (Dramatic Skill Resolution) steps that would apply, one character can attempt to fulfill them as a Multi-Action. Alternatively, multiple characters can attempt those steps individually, in order, but all attempts have a penalty equal to -2 per step attempted (harder than a Multi-Action would be, due to the added complexity of coordination). For example, if ABC is showing, one character can attempt A, then B, then C, all at -4 for the Multi-Action -- or two or three different characters can attempt A, then B, then C, all at -6 for rushed coordination.
  • Armor has three pieces: torso, head, and leggings. Full body armor covers all three. Other armor misses one or more.
  • Flash grenades (from the Beta Clearance Player's Primer) just do 8 damage in a Medium Blast. A Good hit also causes one condition (Stymied or Vulnerable, attacker's choice), but doesn't deal any extra damage. An Outstanding hit inflicts two conditions. They have Value 5 if requisitioned; they are not normally available for purchase.

Pronunciation Guide

Aysle:I-uhl (like "aisle")
edeinos:uh-DEE-nohss
Kanawa:kah-nah-wah (no stress)
Orrorsh:oar-ROARSH
stela:STEE-luh
stelae:STEE-lee
Uthorion:you-THOR-ee-uhn